Thursday, 27 January 2011

World Cross Country

Posted by speedygeoff on Thursday, January 27, 2011 with 2 comments
The Australian Team for the World Cross Country has been announced. Victorians dominate; no surprise, as Victoria has always been the top distance running state in Australia, and still is. In the men's team, only Ben St Lawrence is a non-Victorian.

Men 12k
Craig Mottram
Collis Birmingham
Ben St Lawrence
Liam Adams
Clint Perrett
David McNeill
Toby Rayner (reserve)

Women 8k
Benita Willis
Lara Tamsett
Anna Thompson
Kaila McKnight
Eloise Wellings

Junior men 8k
Hugh Williams
Joshua Johnson
Ethan Heywood
Glen Yarham

Junior women 6k
Celia Sullohern

Cross Country Trial

Michael Shelley and Collis Birmingham battling out the 12k cross country trial in Canberra last Sunday. Birmingham defeated the Commonwealth Games marathon silver medallist by three seconds. Michael Shelley is unavailable for the Cross Country team, running London instead.


  1. Go Benita!

    I thought you would have borrowed one of the photos I posted on Twitter ;)

  2. I still haven't got the hang of twitter. No time to experiment, I guess. Or age might be a factor.